top of page

Ancient Egypt Cannabis - Medicine c. 1550 BC

I have been studying and using various forms of cannabis for about 7 years now.


I'm getting pretty good at making my own medicine for chronic pain but that hasn't stopped me learning all I can about how cannabis can help me...and others.


It has given me the freedom to be off opiods and have had enough pain relief to paint, design and explore just enough.


In my research (key word search) I come across images that captivate me for some reason or another. This one made my day. The idea that I'm managing my pain with a plant they used for the same purposes in 1550 B.C.

The Ebers Papyrus (c. 1550 BC) from Ancient Egypt describes medical cannabis.Other ancient Egyptian papyri that mention medical cannabis are the Ramesseum III Papyrus (1700 BC), the Berlin Papyrus (1300 BC) and the Chester Beatty Medical Papyrus VI (1300 BC).The ancient Egyptians used hemp (cannabis) in suppositories for relieving the pain of hemorrhoids. Around 2,000 BCE, the ancient Egyptians used cannabis to treat sore eyes.The egyptologist Lise Manniche notes the reference to "plant medical cannabis" in several Egyptian texts, one of which dates back to the eighteenth century BCE.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page